Persistence + purpose = progress.

It’s easy, as a musician, or someone in any form of creative endeavor, to get side tracked. The joy of creating is great. And natural bursts of motivation can take you for a nice ride, full of surprises. But when I’m almost out of energy and running on the fumes of my last wave of excitement, what will continue to keep me going is knowing and being passionate about where my destination is, and the steps I’m taking to get there.

I remember a couple of years ago, I was doing a lot of different stuff. Playing shows, writing songs, recording youtube videos. They just seemed like things musicians should do, and every time the mood struck me to get musical, I’d pursue it through one of these avenues. But there was no focus. I was wishing for the stars and shoveling sand into a pail. It seemed like a great idea at the time, and led to some happy opportunities, but ultimately was not sustainable.

I had no concrete method for growth. I was both the man with the apple on his head, and the blindfolded archer at the other side of the range, taking aim, and hoping great luck would save me. That era is gone. Playing open mics and showcases and hoping an A&R Rep is going to discover and sign you is a pipe dream. And a major label record deal? Let’s be honest, it doesn’t sound like my cup of tea.

Creativity should be applied to more than just songwriting and production. You’ve got to pave your own way. No one’s going to do it for you. It’s simply astounding, the world of difference setting and sticking to a goal makes. Working on it every day. Every day. No days off. Because I know the rewards… Gaining momentum and forming a habit out of working towards becoming a better artist. Making the act of creativity a painless and natural process, and part of who I am.

I’ve heard that there will be challenges. But I haven’t encountered one lately that couldn’t be overcome by persistence. I’m keeping my vision of the future right in front of me. I’m opening my eyes and ears to get ready for what’s coming towards me that will propel me. I’m ready to work, I’m ready to learn, and I’m ready to perform. Let’s not waste another day. There’s life to be lived.

About Andy Glover

i play music
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

